More from Boels
Log in Register

Redevelopment of a former mining area


The mine complex in Beringen (Belgium) covers 100,000 m2, making it the largest industrial heritage site in Flanders. Under the name of be-MINE, 32 hectares will be redeveloped to create an area for residential homes, businesses, shops and leisure facilities. Two construction companies, Van Roey Groep and Democo, have set up a trade association called THV Mijnbouw specially for this ten-year project. Their rental partner is Boels Rental.

International property development award 

Of all the remaining mining areas in the Belgian province of Limburg, Beringen is the only one where the original industrial activities have been preserved. Consequently, when developing be-MINE, restoration of the existing buildings was also an area of strong focus, in addition to the plans for new construction. The way in which everything comes together in Beringen is so special that the project won the MIPIM Award for the Best Urban Regeneration Project in Cannes in 2017. A significant achievement when you consider that the project is not scheduled to reach completion until 2023.

Reliable partner 

Site manager Peter Van den Abeele has co-responsibility for supervising some of the construction workers at the site and, among other things, has to ensure that the right equipment is always available. He relies on Boels for this. Van den Abeele: “From aerial platforms to telehandlers, and construction lifts to cutting torch systems, I always get in touch with my regular contact at Boels for everything we need. He recommends the machines that are most suitable and puts us in touch with the nearest Boels branch that can deliver the required equipment. In an intensive collaboration, flexibility is required on both sides and Boels excels in this area. Boels is the perfect partner for my needs.”

Want to always be up-to-date? Sign up for our newsletter

Mehr von Boels
Einloggen Registrieren

Die Sanierung eines ehemaligen Bergbaugebiets

be-MINE

Das Bergbaugebiet im belgischen Beringen stellt mit seinen 100.000 m2 den größten Industrieerbe-Standort von Flandern dar. Unter der Bezeichnung be-MINE wird ein 32 Hektar großes Gebiet saniert, das künftig Wohnen, Arbeiten, Einkaufen und Naherholung miteinander kombiniert. Die Bauunternehmen Van Roey Groep und Democo gründeten speziell für dieses zehn Jahre dauernde Projekt die Handelsgesellschaft THV Mijnbouw. Ihr Vermietungspartner ist Boels Rental.

Internationaler Immobilienpreis

Das Gebiet in Beringen ist das einzige der in der belgischen Provinz Limburg übriggebliebenen Bergbaugebiete, dessen industrieller Kern erhalten geblieben ist. Deshalb wird bei der Entwicklung von be-MINE nicht nur dem Neubau, sondern auch der Renovierung und Restaurierung der vorhandenen Gebäude viel Aufmerksamkeit gewidmet. Die auf diese Weise in Beringen entstehende Kombination ist so außergewöhnlich, dass be-MINE in 2017 in Cannes bereits mit dem MIPIM-Award für das ‚Best Urban Regeneration Project‘ ausgezeichnet wurde - obwohl das Projekt voraussichtlich erst 2023 abgeschlossen sein wird.

Vertrauen

Werftleiter Peter Van den Abeele ist mitverantwortlich für die Leitung eines Teils der Bauarbeiter auf dem Gelände und unter anderem dafür zuständig, dass immer das richtige Material vorhanden ist. In dieser Hinsicht verlässt er sich voll und ganz auf Boels. Er erzählt: „Von Arbeitsbühnen bis hin zu Telehandlern und von Bauaufzügen bis hin zu Brennschneidanlagen - ich schalte für sämtliches benötigte Material meinen festen Ansprechpartner bei Boels ein. Er berät mich bezüglich der am besten geeigneten Maschinen und hat uns mit der Boels-Filiale in unserer Nähe zusammengebracht, die das erforderliche Material liefern kann. Eine intensive Zusammenarbeit erfordert die Flexibilität beider Seiten. Mit Boels funktioniert das hervorragend. Boels ist meiner Ansicht nach der perfekte Partner.“

Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden! Melden Sie sich für unser Rundschreiben an.